Artist: Way Out West
Title: Mindcircus
Label: Distinctive Records
By: Vince Hart | 6 March 2002
  • A: Original Mix
  • B: Way Out West Club Mix
  • C: Phunk Investigation Mix
  • D: Phunk Investigation Dub
  • E: Gabriel & Dresden Mix
  • F: Fred Numf Vs Etienne Overdijk Mix
  • G: Tarrentella:Redanka Dub
  • H: Tarrentella:Redanka Vocal Mix

Way Out West "Mindcircus"Way Out West "Mindcircus"

Out Now on Distinctive Records

Nearly 8 months after the release of “Intensify,” the third single release from the album of the same name is here: “Mindcircus.” More of a glorified pop song than a dance tune in it’s original form, but that’s not to say none of the remixers have tried to make it more suitable for the dancefloor.

The best version is undoubtedly the original, however. It showcases Tricia Lee “Can I Please Have Some Silence” Kelshall’s seductive angelic vocals along with an infectious piano melody. Add some chunky funky breaks and ethereal chordal ambience and you have a ditty that wins you over on the first listen. Expect a few twists and turns, however, as “Mindcircus” does a 180 for two phrases after the first chorus and teases the listener with a dissonant and chilling clarinet solo. Haunting, unintelligible sounds clutter the aural landscape and remind you of your favorite horror flick. This one is sure to be remembered years down the line.

Way out West offer their own clubby take on the original. It’s not quite as effective or as powerful as the one featured on Jody’s “Way Out There” compilation, but good nonetheless. The one featured here is a moody, pumping 4/4 take and utilizes some Domination-esque synths and the usual spacious atmospherics that give their productions that trademark depth. The clarinet and the vocals are still intact and little touches like flute and sitar riffs dart the landscape. A warm muffled orchestrated chord progression spliced with syncopated breakbeats provides a mystical/uplifting backdrop for the midsection of the tune and is a nice contrast to the darker, funkier & more transparent intro. The pumping acidic outro of the tune is, perhaps, where this mix disappoints, as it just seems like an afterthought. The mood is changed once again but the transition is not the smoothest and one can’t help to feel that it causes the mix to feel a bit disjointed. Thanks to the last portion, this mix just sounds a bit incomplete. Overall, a good effort, but it would have been better had they combined this version with some of the elements from the original club mix done over a year ago.

Up next we have Gabriel & (Dave “The Wave”) Dresden’s take on “Mindcircus.” A straightforward hypnotic 4/4 trance groove with an 80’s-influenced bassline, this one lets the vocal and the infectious piano melody shine through. Thanks to the flanged piano and the soaring atmospherics, this mix has a smooth liquid feel which is contrasted well by the staccato bassline. Quite popular with some of the bigger jocks (Tong, Fontaine, Tall Paul, etc.), this remix has received a great amount of buzz and hype. However, it has a repetitive nature that affords it very little longevity. It offers little in the way of variation, just building, pumping lite-prog that grows tiring after a few listens. G&D have done another mix that is miles better, and will be out on a future Dresden Mix cd (TBA).

From Netherland comes the Fred Numf vs. Overdijk Mix, which offers a predictable euro-tinged trance take on the original. Anthemic and banging w/ full vocals intact, this will appeal to all the Tiesto, Armin, & Corsten fans. Not much else to say about this, since it’s utterly predictable and has been done many times before, and isn’t really what would qualify as progressive.

Phunk Investigation next up on remixing duties and they take “Mindcircus” where it’s never gone before. After scrapping their previous disco workout from last year due to sample clearance issues, they return with a hypnotic toned down disco rendition with a scrumptious guitar hook, engrossing arpeggios and the vocals from the chorus and the first verse intact. The dub is along similar lines, featuring another hypnotizing filtered disco loop, the “Can I Please Have Some Silence?” vocal, and other subtle elements from the original used during the clarinet midsection. House DJ’s will have fun with either mix and progressive DJ’s could even put these to use in an earlier part of their sets. Not good for much else besides the dancefloor, these are guaranteed to get the party moving.

The final set of remixes comes from tribal prog’s favorite poster boys, Tarrentella & Redanka. Clocking in at over 10 minutes, they offer the most epic mix. Pure prog heaven with syncopated synth stabs, percussive bongo action, and the full vocal intact. Shortening it wouldn’t have been a bad idea, as it begins to get bogged down about midway through. Thankfully, there’s the Dub which offers just the right amount of build before dropping off into a killer atmospheric bass-driven breakbeat that suitably pays homage to the original, all the while toying w/ the “Silence” and “Space” vocal snippets. Next to the original WOW Club Mix, this is my personal favorite. The TvsR Mixes serve as good peaktime material for the prog house DJ.

In conclusion, you have a large package of remixes to pick from, ranging from disco house to prog to trance, and ranging in quality from mediocre to very decent. The original will be remembered more than any of the others, simply due to that infectious lyric from the chorus “Can I please have some silence?”

Music Reviews -more-