Artist: Shiloh
Title: Bleed
Label: Baroque Records
By: Colin C. | 1 June 2006
  1. Will U Ever Come Around
  2. Bleed
  3. Face
  4. Mana
  5. Undo
  6. Outsider
  7. Sanguinate
  8. Fall (Reprise)
  9. Melt
  10. Dream On
  11. Reaction

Shiloh "Bleed"Shiloh "Bleed"

Out Now on Baroque Records

Colin and Justin Moreh have become a staple group within the new breed of progressive breaks. Together they have gathered up quite a number of fans with their ability to blend melodic motifs with bangin’ percussion. It’s only been 3 years since the duo found a home for “Will U Ever Come Around” on Keith McDonell’s Electrofly imprint. Since then, Electrofly has been their primary home, releasing such massive tracks as ‘Dream On’ and ‘Mana’. Now set to unleash their first album, its no surprise to find this dual disc release on none other than Electrofly’s parent label Baroque.

‘Bleed’ is broken into two parts, with disc one aptly called “Red Cell”. Here we find some of the discography of Shiloh’s Electrofly catalog (unfortunately “Swerve” and “Baby” didn’t make the cut here). Starting things off is the mellowed out vibes of ‘Will U Ever Come Around’, while ‘Mana’ and the epic “Dream On” also find a new home on this disc. As for new material the album cut, ‘Bleed’ leads us down a down tempo path where the duo opts for some crisp percussion to accent the warbling bass line that infects the whole track with a sexy demeanor. ‘Face’ comes in third, here the brothers try to craft something a little more dirty and urban but sadly the vocals really turn me off with its cheesy lines like “swelling like a melon”. The track could have easily stood on its own without the vocals, as it works on the level of some of Silencer’s album cuts. However ‘Undo’ steps up to give us more of the Shiloh quality we’ve come to love. Here the breaks are swapped with a nice, simple four-on-the-floor beat complete with light vocals, a great bass line, and filtered out guitar riffs. This is a track that proves you don’t have to pile on the instruments and motifs to get an effective track. Even more laid back and silky smooth is ‘Outsider’ and ‘Fall’ which have great use of vocals and will make for great soundtracks for post-club summer nights. Finally ‘Reaction’ rounds out this disc, with a big monster of a floor stormer. Bright lush programming accents the nasty bass line and that crisp Shiloh percussion before breaking into epic pads and melancholic vocals.

With the second disc, “White Cell”, we get treated to some remixes and more “DJ friendly” cuts as Shiloh teams up with Luke Chable for some devastating results. First off is the massive remix Chable did of ‘Dream On’, here in its full 11 minute glory it takes the track into dance floor heaven. ‘Vista Cruz’ finds Shiloh teaming with Michelle Chivers who is making quite a name for herself as a newcomer this year. This cut is more on the house-y tip, as Michelle’s warm voice sits atop a rolling bass line and simple synth progressions. Two Chable Vs. Shiloh tracks appear on the album, ‘Sentrino’ is the first and has yet another catchy riff in the vein of his “Dream On” remix. Massive yet simple, this is one that you’ll surely get stuck in your head after listening. ‘Oz’ also goes right for the same epic floor filler, but this one pulls at your heartstrings with its beautiful, old school trance influenced pads and motifs. Thankfully Shiloh didn’t forget about ‘Baby’, as it gets a remake in ‘All Those Things’ with Arizona based outfit LP. Together they go right for the jugular, throwing down edits galore in classic nu school breaks style.

As far as remixes go, Özgür Can and Stian Klo don their ‘Furry Nipples’ guise to try and rescue ‘Face’. They do a good job in turning it into a glitchy prog number making the track work well for the dance floors. ‘Reaction’ also gets a face-lift by David West. With his big room breaks rehash he manages to closely rival the original in quality. Only two cuts on this disc that didn’t do too much for me were ‘Imok’ and ‘Ruok’. Both are heavy four-on-the-floor numbers that seem to just blend into the surrounding scenery. Don’t get me wrong, they ooze with Shiloh style, but the themes they facilitate are right up the same alley as the majority of the content on these discs all ready and I hate to say left me a little bored here listening at home. I’m sure they work the floor nicely, but the armchair listeners might find themselves passing these two up.

Overall, I have to say I was a bit skeptical at this release while looking at the track list, I guess maybe I was expecting all brand new material. Thankfully though all my fears were set-aside after giving this a proper listen. No doubt that the brothers are settling nicely into their sound and are able to capture not only the new principles of the scene but are also able to pay homage to the past. A wonderfully constructed two disc set that is sure to have new Shiloh fans and old enjoying this release.

Music Reviews -more-