Artist: Deep Dish
Title: Global Underground: 025 - Toronto
Label: Global Underground
By: Brian Dietrich | 31 August 2003
  1. Louie Vega & Jay ‘Sinister’ Sealee Ft Julie McKnight - Diamond Life (Accapella)
  2. Stephane K - Numb (Meat Katie Mix)
  3. Sultan - Nighvisions
  4. 5th Order - Sineweaver
  5. Electroland - Drop Beat (Circulation Mix)
  6. Sultan & The Greek - Rezin
  7. Cheky & Spider - In Love (Killer Mix)
  8. Electric Mood Feat Melanie - Sacred Dance
  9. Aalacho - Satellite (Evolved Mix)
  10. Valentino - Flying (Sultan & Tone Depth Mix)
  11. Moony - Dove (I’ll Be Loving You)
  12. Accorsi & Basseti - Until The End
  13. Seroya - Only Your Love

Deep Dish "Global Underground: 025 - Toronto"Deep Dish "Global Underground: 025 - Toronto"

Out Now on Global Underground

Deep Dish. aka - Sharam and Dubfire. If you choose to believe it or not, these gentlemen are two of the most important figures in todays global dance music scene. In the mainstream, and the underground. Grammy winning, club packing, (multiple) independent label running and a myriad of other assorted jobs are what keep Deep Dish on their toes and on top. These positions give DD an all encompassing view of todays best dance music from all over the world. The upfront promos from well established artists, to the demo CDRs from the unknown bedroom producers ... Deep Dish are in the spot to hear it all. This edge is what established the duo as major asset for the Boxed empire.

This is the second outing for DD in their Global Underground excursions (the first came in the form of GU21 Moscow). Although my initial thought was of the "sophomore curse", the DD boys have done just the opposite. Using their arsenal of collected tracks and super exclusive bits, they have created a fresh and diverse cross section of deep house, tech-house and all things progressive.

CD1 starts off with a remixed / reworked interpretation of the recent Stephane K track "Numb". DD give it the once over and add an upbeat acapella which enhances the bouncey beat of the track. It is the "diamond life". After a smooth transition between track 1 and 2 the energy level of the CD drops to a more subdued level, leading into a group of three records that sit well together. The subtle guitar, piano line and sleepy vocals of "Sultan - Nightvisions" slide effortlessly into the live bass groove of "5th Order - Sineweaver", then leading the energy of the CD back up the scale is the ear catching melody of "Electroland - Drop Beat (Circulation remix)". This is truly one of the high points of CD1. An amazing remix effort by the Circulation supremos that jumps out with crisp, clean production and effective track sequencing. A definite must have - hunt down - buy on site release for all the tech-house heads out there. At this point we're introduced to the "Stella-esque" (see: Jam & Spoon circa 1992) groove of "Sultan & The Greek - Rezin". A nice midpoint for the CD, after which the intensity of the mix is taken up through the evolved grooves of the next four tracks. Culminating (sadly) with "Moony - Doves (John Creamer & Stephane K remix)" the inclusion of this track signaled to me that DD had indeed "lost the plot" and were going to end this CD with a sputter instead of a bang. The only redemption to this musical flaw was the placement of "Accorsi/Basseti - Until the End" immediately after "Moony". Saving the groove and setting up for the closing track "Seroya - Only Your Love (Holme Ives remix)". This last track places the listener in just the right state of mind for the sounds and style of CD2.

The second CD gets going right out of the blocks with "Situation 2wo - Way2tite". Cheery vocals and a solid swing to the track, makes this out to be a future "progressive house" classic. The mix slides quickly into the growling bass line of the Planet Funk rework of "Elisa - Time". Coming in as track 3 is the feel good anthem "Breezer", co-produced by progressive kingpins Sasha & Junkie XL. The placement of this track seems a bit premature in the context of this CD, but overall does not seem too far out of place. What do you follow up behind an anthem ... another, as of yet unreleased, anthem. "Sander Kleinenberg - Work To Do" fits the bill perfectly. The stammering, steppy breakbeat and two note bassline make this a prime cut of "future funk" that has everyone waiting impatiently for it's full release. To follow that chunk of anthemic quality is the original (and G-Pal remix) of "Paul Rogers - Krafty". A slick progressive number that is only outdone by the remix. G-Pal taking the best of the original, and adding his own flair. An expansive sounding synth lays over the sharp percussion and quickly widens further through the breakdown. Letting the bottom end of the track kick back in and allowing the CD to be driven full throttle ... Enter "Lowriders - Part 1" ... a massive tribal work out with retro sounding synth stabs that create a heavy, housed up swing. Horns and siren sounds penetrate the midrange and add a sense of urgency to the mix. This is one track that was aimed square at the Guverment dancefloor. Definitely the high point of CD2. After the pinnacle mayhem of "Lowriders", the CD takes a turn for the deeper side of progressive with "Miro - The One I Run To". This cut is used effectively to break up the midsection and set the CD in yet another, new direction. The four tracks that follow have the best continuity of any section on either CD. Keeping the tempo and overall intensity of the tracks on similar levels. Tribal and bass heavy with the just the right amount of progressive undertones. This section is highlighted by the guitar infused "Maurice & Noble - HoochiKoochi" and new school / old school hybrid of "The Youngsters - Break Them Up". To end the package, DD chose to include the progressive anthem "Holden & Thompson - Nothing (93 returning remix)" to whisper CD2 to a close.

The impression of CD1 is that overall, the tracks have a hard time setting a pace of continuity, but are all solid pieces of music by themselves. The lack of programming is what holds this CD back, keeping it from being a cohesive presentation. Falling a bit short for the Boxed standard, but an entertaining listen overall. this is the weaker of the two CDs, but nothing that the average listener is going to be hyper critical of hearing in a home setting.

CD2 in comparison, is executed with a more measured and well constructed path. The evolution of the CD is well thought out and apparent from the first listen. Subtle changes throughout and more intricate mixes make this the stronger of the pair. Definitely making up for any ground lost by CD1.

In retrospect, the complete package is a good watermark for future GU releases. Setting a standard of quality music and varied influences that exposes club favorites and unknown treasures that truly capture the spirit of the Global Underground.

Music Reviews -more-