Artist: Dave Seaman
Title: This Is Audiotherapy
Label: Audio Therapy
By: Jason Calvert | 7 October 2005
  1. Nick & John Dalagelis - Quiet (Stelios Is Watching)
    Infusion - Legacy (Acapella)
  2. Habersham - Dryspell
  3. Kosmas Epsilon - Monster Puppy
  4. Kosmas Epsilon - Ill Ssa (V-Sag Mix)
  5. Kosmas Epsilon & Viton Feat Dallas - There Can Be Only One
  6. Phil K & Habersham - Cloudbrake (Oliver Molden Mix)
    Dave Seaman Presents Group Therapy Feat Nat Leonard - My Own Worst Enemy (Acapella)
  7. Oliver Molden Presents Prawler - Marraca$h
  8. Stel Feat John Elliott - Finding Time (Alternate Mix)
  9. Killahurtz - Kiss For The Dying (Hybrid Matrix Dub)
  10. Tone Depth Feat Matt Shapiro - To The Moon (Dark Dub)
  11. Phatjak - Dirty Sunday (Dimi Phaze Mix)

Dave Seaman "This Is Audiotherapy"Dave Seaman "This Is Audiotherapy"

Out Now on Audio Therapy

Here is Audio Therapy's second CD, and first mix compilation. So who better to mix it than label front man Dave Seaman? The CD highlights some hot upcoming and unreleased material, and anyone who is familiar with the label will know that their stuff is hot, and fans across the globe are always eagerly awaiting their next release. "This Is Audiotherapy" is something to wet your lips on. A mixed CD of exclusive quality, and then a second unmixed disk featuring some full length cuts from the mix and some other rarities.

Opening with the slow burner "Quiet", we have here a much more sinister interpretation than showcased on the "Across Borders" album. To set the mood, the classic "Legacy" is sampled over the top with excellent effect. Putting on his creative boots, Seaman performs some technical wizardry to bring in "Dryspell" in a very unique way, and it is from this first mix that the listener knows that Seaman's mixing ability is practically flawless.

The smooth beats of the massive "Dryspell" glide swiftly into an Epsilon monster, strangely enough titled "Monster Puppy". Building up a forward thinking mood with intricately layered effects and a melody which gets right into your head, this then progresses on to V-Sag's interpretation of "Ill Ssa". This is a darker take on the original with a more driving feel to it.

The saying goes third time lucky. I think Epsilon used a bit more than luck in the production of his third number for the CD, teaming up with Viton and Dallas for results which could be some of his strongest to date. An emotive melody graces our ears with whispering vocals floating in and out, and still successfully retains a banging feel to it.

Oliver Moldan goes all out on his remix of "Cloudbrake", which tightens up the percussion with some insane drums and tight rhythm patterns. Nat Leonard's familiar voice floats in and out of the track, but there are times I felt that Moldan's Mix deserved to be showcased in better light. This is especially true for once the track really gets fired up, and when trying to focus on the tight melody line, the vocal tends to get in the way. However, it is the first track on disk two, so we can enjoy it there without being disturbed!

Continuing on with Moldan's sound, "Marraca$h" is due for release on the label in the near future. Strong percussion and a tight bassline set the tone, which creates a perfect entry for a nice interpretation of the classic "Finding Time". The bassline has been pumped up, and it overall has a more laid back feel. Whilst it may not top the raw emotion of the K-Roxx Mix, it certainly adds a nice twist to the original.

This certainly butters us up for Hybrid's Matrix Dub of "Kiss For The Dying", which is superior to their Echoplex 0405 Mix in many ways. Whilst much of the vocal is gone, it has a much tighter feel, many added effects and backing melodies, with a much more complete sound.

However the peak time mood takes a slight turn, and we end up back at "To The Moon". The Dark Dub takes the track on a darker route, which is quite a slow burner, but once it gets going has a nice feel to it. Nothing spectacular, but it certainly is more appealing than the other two mixes of the track which were released previously.

To end the first disk, Phatjak takes us on a bouncing house fuelled number, which takes out the CD on a very high positive note, but felt a bit forced coming in straight from "To The Moon". As a stand alone track though, it has a real energetic feel to it with a great atmosphere to complement.

The second disk is unmixed, and provides us with a few standouts from the first disk including Oliver Moldan's huge mix of "Cloudbrake", and Hybrid's Matrix Dub of "Kiss For The Dying". The Walsh & Coutre Mix of "My Own Worst Enemy" may appeal to big fans of the original set of mixes, but nothing new is really introduced to the track. Trafik's Mix of the K-Roxx gem "Surreal" is a standout boasting some quality vibe with a strong vocal element. Stel & Tone Depth provide an interesting interpretation of the Ashland classic "Clear", which certainly brings it up to scratch and succeeds on many levels. With an explosive intro, Sean Quinn & Dan Mangan pay homage to the insane "Revealing The Door", and whilst not providing the same raw energy as "Revealing The Dub", it is a welcoming take on the original. Porter throws down his usual quirky and energetic style to "Mojo", which will appeal to long time Porter fans. George Thompson & Acid Rockers decide to take on "No Way Out". But what they are trying to do seems to have been already done by Nubreed and Oceanwave in the past, and again seems to lack an element of anything new.

There are some truly amazing tracks showcased over the two disks, and also some that would be quite easy to pass by. The quality of the mixing is great, nothing to criticize there, but towards the end "To The Moon" seems quite out of place where it is, and the ending could have become much stronger with some different construction. The second disk is going to be received very well by DJs, and it is excellent to see a label acknowledging the fact that more and more people are moving to CDs and digital methods to mix over vinyl.

Music Reviews -more-